Genealogy
Museum
Log Cabin
Red Schoolhouse
Resources
Museum Store
About Us
Location
Support Us
Links
Home
  
Facebook

MuseumMUSEUM

The Museum is housed in the original Allamakee Courthouse built in 1861. The exterior of the Museum is built of native limestone and brick. The interior of this two-story building is built of white pine. Within the Museum, one will discover rooms furnished to reflect the 19th and early 20th century, displays of farm tools, military items, medical room, and the court room-complete with the judge’s bench, chair and gavel. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. There is a $2.00 charge which is admission to both the Museum and Genealogy Center.

The Society maintains two other historical buildings.

The “Gjefle” Log Cabin     The Red Schoolhouse

121 Allamakee Street, PO Box 95, Waukon, Iowa 52172
563.568.2954     Email: info@allamakeehistory.org

Site Created By: LRT Web Service